Home1966216        12
Title: Design

Pages: 9


Author: Editorial

Text: Design
Council of Industrial Design 216 December 1966
John E. Blake
Editorial Advisers
Paul Reilly J. Noel White The Earl of Snowdon Robert Clark Michael Tree
Executive Editor Dennis Cheetham Assistant Editor Richard Carr News Editor Susan Forsyth
Art Editor Caroline Rawlence Assistant Art Editor Tony Anderson Production Keith Roberts Staff Photographer Timothy Quallington
Business Manager Arthur Sudbery Advertisement Manager Frederick Littlewood
Whatever happened to our folk memory ?
12 Point of view
14 Profit by design: a report on the 1966 international design congress This report picks out the main themes of the congress papers, and considers the chief pre-occupations of both speakers and delegates as revealed during the discussion periods
30 Products, interiors, events, ideas
38 The sorting of Fice goes automatic by Richard Cart The author describes how new equipment and a public postal code are being introduced to speed the handling of the mail
42 British poster design awards 1966 The fifth year of these awards attracted a record entry of 510 submissions. This feature reports the judges' comments, and illustrates the 18 award winning posters
48 Signs of the times at Glasgow airport by Gillian Naylor By commissioning an industrial designer to design its sign system, and then extending his work so that it has become a house style, Glasgow airport has paved the way for a design policy for British airports
52 American views on design education by Malcolm J. Brookes A report on the first educators' conference held by the Industrial Design Society of America
55 Diary, News and Letters
Looking ahead The January issue will include a preview of Expo '67 with illustrated examples of Canadian design produced especially for the exhibition; a feature on the design policy of Ekco Plastics Ltd; and a profile of Peter Masefield, head of the British Airports Authority.
Overseas correspondents Australia Peter Hunt. Austria Charlotte Blauensteiner. Belgium Josine des Cressonieres. Canada Lydia Ferrabee. Denmark Jens Nielsen. Finland Jaakko Lintinen. France Henri Vienot. Holland Anton P. Bruigom. Italy Tudy Sammartini and Laura Neagle. New Zealand Roger Lascelles. Norway Alf Boe. Poland Ryszard Bojar. South Africa Norman Segal. Spain Andre Ricard. Sweden Eva Ralf. Switzerland Eugen Gomringer. USA Malcolm J. Brookes. Yugoslavia Miroslav Fruht.
Addresses of manufacturers in this issue are on page 84
Editorial/circulation/advertisements Council of Industrial Design, The Design Centre, 28 Haymarket, London SW1 Tel: TRAfalgar8000; and the Council of Industrial Design Scottish Committee, Scottish Design Centre, 46 West George Street, Glasgow C2 Tel: DOUglas 3914
Design may be obtained from booksellers at home and abroad or from the Col D. Yearly subscription: Britain 46s, overseas 58s or $8.25, post paid



about        contact        terms of use        image credits        © 2017